St. Stephen Lutheran Church
St. Stephen Lutheran Church

Our History

St Stephen Lutheran Church - a breif history


Since 1838 eight separate churches enter into the story of St. Stephen. Those churches include St. Peter's (1843-1945), Zion's (1863-1965), Redeemer (1892-1956), Mt. Tabor (1894–1956), St. John's and St. Peter's (1945-1965), Resurrection (1956–1979) and St. John's (1965–1979).


Many of the original churches were destroyed at some point by fire and rebuilt. Eventually some were impossible to maintain physically and financially.  All the churches traveled full circle in time, and in 1979 St. Stephen was established at the site originally built in 1929 by Redeemer.


The heritage of St. Stephen is rich and varied.  As a congregation, we work together to provide a spritual and welcoming worship on Sundays so that we all may go out and "be the church" through the rest of the week.  We pray that God will continue to bless this congregation as we bear witness to God's love in our community, the City Syracuse, and beyond



Support the ministry of God

at St. Stephen with a donation. 

Set up a one-time gift or a reoccuring gift /offering.

Click the link above, to donate online through our Tithe-ly page.  Please consider checking the box to cover the costs of the transaction.  THANKS! 

(315) 479-9912

873 Dewitt St.

Syracuse, NY 13203



Sunday Worship 9:30AM

in person or on line: Facebook Live

A link to the worship video is available about 11AM each Sunday morning.



Print | Sitemap
© St Stephen Lutheran Church